Our DWI Success Stories

We strive for winning results. Learn More about our previous cases.

New Jersey DWI In A School Zone

The State of New Jersey attaches enhanced penalties for DWI violations that occur in a school zone. Under New Jersey law, school zones are defined as the following:

  • Any school property used for school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board
  • A radius of 1,000 feet from such a school property
  • A designated school crossing
  • A school crossing that is not designated by an ordinance but that juveniles are using at the time of the violation

The wide 1,000-foot range included in this definition means that school zones are expansive. For example, school zones may also include athletic fields, which may be far from the main campus; however, since they are owned by the school, the fields and the 1,000-foot areas surrounding them, fall under this definition.

Penalties for School Zone DWI

If you are convicted of driving while intoxicated in a school zone, the penalties may include the following:

Jail Sentence License Suspension Fines Surcharges
1st Offense 60 days 1-2 years $500-$800 $3,500+
2nd Offense 4-180 days 4 years $1,000-$2,000 $3,500+
3rd Offense 180 days 20 years $2,000 $5,000+

Defending Your DWI Case

A conviction for a school zone DWI will have a tremendous and negative impact on your life. Because you are facing severe penalties, it is in your best interests to find an experienced and reputable DWI attorney to defend your case.

Attorney Steven Hernandez is a nationally respected DWI lawyer who has extensive experience in defending clients accused of DWI in school zones. He is ready to devote his time and resources to defend your rights.

Build a Solid Defense in Your Case

Complete a Free Online Evaluation Today

Ask A Question

Get Started Now

DUI Case Wins

Read Here

Helpful Videos

Watch Here